Mr. Jeremy Henry

I’ve met Jeremy about a year ago when I started to go to Remix; a young adult and campus outreach ministry; on a CONSISTENT basis about a year and a half ago. (I say consistent because it was a struggle for me to go to church at all, yet we are not speaking about me. Lol) Then we entered into this season of internship to which I grew to know my brother from another mother a little more. He is so loving and kind and his heart is dripped in gold. I can honestly say there is no bad day when you are around him.  Some say I have a light and carry a certain glow that is within me, and when I link up with other people with that same light; it’s a powerful thing! If you think i’m laying on the compliments rather thickly–Jeremy is also NOT the longest of winds person when it comes to talking! Ha ha. So this interview is a bit short and i’m trying to fill this blog out as much as possible. Y’all didn’t come to hear me ramble so let’s go ahead and jump into this interview, shall we?! WHAT DEFINES JEREMY? What defines me…umm… HOW DO YOU VIEW YOURSELF? I view myslef as funny and outgoing. Somewhat courageous–to an extent. Uh, sports lover OF COURSE; anything sports man. Football is my main passion. Football is my life fam. Church goer. I love God. 

WHAT ARE THREE WORDS THAT BEST SUM UP WHO YOU ARE? Three words that best sum up who I am? AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME! (Laughs) THAT’S ONE WORD REPEATED THREE TIMES! OKAY, I NEED THREE DIFFERENT WORDS! (Laughs) Okay, smart. Funny and outgoing. 

LAST QUESTION, OKAY? AND I WANT YOU TO THINK ABOUT THIS BEFORE YOU ANSWER. WHAT DOES BEING A BLACK AMERICAN MEAN TO YOU? I mean it’s hard, it really is, being a black man in a pretty much white mans world. It’s tough, but I mean…we struggle, but we make it. So in all what being a black American person to me is that you are going to have your trials and tribulations and your struggles compared to most people. Key is, you are going to overcome and rise above it all. You just have to keep pushing forward.”In this day and age with social media pretty much being the dawn of our generation receving the news it is so hard to filter through what is real and what is agenda pushed. During what seemed like the never ending cycle of unarmed black men being killed and church members being killed solely based on the color of their skin, I began to pray harder than ever for the black men in our community. People sometimes brush off and ignore things that do not happen in our own backyard. They think that because it does not happen here it just won’t happen. That is absolutely false. I remember one day I sat with Jeremy and truly asked him how does he truly feel with everything going on. He said, “Honestly Mar’V I am scared. Every time I’m in my car I think, ‘is this my last day? Could this be it?’ Yet, I can’t live in fear. I can’t operate like that. Life goes on and though it is unfortunate, man, I can’t let fear run me. How do you feel?” Honestly, at first I could not answer because I was tearing up, (being the emotional overly sensitive moon child that I am) because I was thinking that my brothers and sisters around me are made for a greater purpose than being judged by their skin color. I absolutely hate; for my brothers especially; that we have to walk around to “prove” we are NOT what society or our environment thinks we are/aren’t. Jeremy as well as the “Squad” of boys he is surrounded with, I pray for you guys on the daily. The enemy is always circling seeking whom he shall devour.  (1 Peter 5:8) I pray against all of these attacks because the enemy himself can NOT touch God’s anointed! (Psalm 105:15). We have some incredible men with incredible stories to share if you are willing to sit and listen. I am so happy to have young black men who want something more; and are chasing after something more; in life than the box some may place them in. Kudos to the “Squad”. 

Ciao XOXO💋💋💋

Leave a Reply

